Food for Thought

16938735_1322829617776787_5947699646871613478_n

This is something to think about… How many of us are “dying” for life to begin, but forget that life has already begun. Rather, it is now a matter of choosing to live. And what to live for.

Too often, we feel as though something “significant” must occur in our lives in order that we might begin living. I’ll be honest, I have a tendency of feeling this way a lot. I struggle with this idea that life has yet to begin. The usual “if only” statements make their way through my train of thought (that is, if it doesn’t leave the station without me) and I begin to feel discouraged and blue even. It’s incredible how much power our state of mind has on us as a whole. At first, it seems like no big deal. One little negative thought here and there, no big deal. Right?

Well, unfortunately and fortunately, the way we choose to think is the way we will inevitably become. A negative attitude is usually the product of a negative mindset. And a positive attitude is definitely the product of a positive mindset.

I know that I have to make a conscious effort to keep from thinking negatively when I’m completely peeved. It is not an easy thing to do either. Then again, usually anything worth while in life takes an intentional effort.

All this to say that, the way we think produces fruit in our lives. That fruit can be delicious and savory, something you can be proud of or it can be bitter and sour, something you’d rather not discuss because it hurts too much, even though you know something’s got to give. We see this fruit in our relationships, workplace, and every other aspect of our lives.

Here’s an example: You don’t think you’ll ever be good enough for that person. You don’t think you’ll ever accomplish that degree you’ve always wanted. You don’t think you can lose the weight. Therefore,  you don’t try to build a friendship with that person you find intriguing. You won’t even google the degree program let alone fill out an application for a school that offers it. You don’t believe you can have self-control and make healthier choices so you will never get to your goal weight and/or size.

Notice how all of these statements are negative verb forms (Don’t, Can’t, Won’t). This will never get you anywhere in life. You will continue to be discontented with your life and you will never view today with the significance it deserves.

Now, if you switch all of these statements to positives you can see how all of these become possibilities and potentially reality.

Rather than being worried about what people think of you, just be you and do what you love. Don’t wait any longer to go after your dreams. If you’ve always wanted to be in theater, DO IT! If you’ve always wanted your own business, DO IT! If you’ve always wanted to travel, DO IT! Be a writer, be a teacher, be a doctor, be a librarian, even an oceanographer. Be whatever you want to be and don’t worry about what others’ think. There will always be someone in the crowd trying to put you down. IGNORE THEM! Seriously. Either they’re jealous that they don’t have the guts you have or they’re just plain bitter and need Jesus. In either case, overwhelm them with kindness and in the end that will make all the difference.

Look, I am a shy person. I have a hard time starting conversations with people. I have a hard time articulating my thoughts verbally. Whereas, in writing, I don’t really struggle with either of those. It’s weird, but that’s just how it is for me. But this hasn’t stopped me from going places by myself and talking to people. This doesn’t stop me from speaking my mind in a civil manner.

I’ll let you all in on a tidbit, I am dyslexic. I didn’t learn to read well until I was ten years old. I have massive test anxiety and I hate school. Yet, here I am writing a blog and books (that never seem to be ready), going to college and maintaining a 3.5 average. These are things that so many people told me they never thought I could accomplish. I had people left and right telling me that they never thought I’d graduate high school and in their defense, I almost didn’t. If not for homeschooling. I have goals of accomplishing a Doctorate, yet I still struggle with tests and reading. But none of that has stopped me. None of the negative criticisms that were supposedly “well-meaning” have stopped me from going for the Gold, so to speak. I dream of traveling and having my own business. In the same way, I dream of getting married someday and having a family. I would love to have the opportunity to home school my own kids. Some of these things are out of my control, but others are completely dependent on me and what I am willing to do in order to accomplish those goals. (In another post I will talk about the difference between goals and desires.)

Anyway, now that I’ve written a book. The point I’m trying to make here is simple. (So, then why have just written a novella about it?) Don’t wait for “milestones” to come in order that you might feel accomplished or happy. Remember that happiness is temporary and that only Jesus can give you joy, which lasts forever. People are fickle and life has many twists and turns. Let yourself be known for your integrity and the way you treat people without any expectation of receiving something in return. When you’re thrown a curve-ball, go with it and pray. God works all things for the good of those who love Him who are called according to His purpose. And we all have purpose.

Today’s Encouraging Word:

A repeat, but totally goes with this post – “Don’t let what you can’t do limit what you can do.”  – John Wooden

 

 

 

One thought on “Food for Thought

Leave a Reply

